Thursday, 16 November 2017

Lay Me To Rest by E. A. Clark @EAClarkAuthor #BlogTour #Review @rararesources


Thank you for joining me today for my stop on the blog tour for Lay Me To Rest by E. A. Clark. I actually reviewed this book back in September but I'm delighted to be re-sharing my review again today. 

First of all though let's take a look at the description for the book...



 

Some secrets never stay buried for long…

Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.

She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…

Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?

A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson, Sarah Wray and Stella Duffy. You won’t be able to put it down!

Purchase from Amazon UK

amzn.to/2k7xLmq


At first glance Lay Me To Rest reads as more of a thriller however there is actually a paranormal/horror edge to it too. With me not reading anything in this genre for quite some time it made a refreshing change to pick up this book. I wasn't quite sure what to expect but decided to sit back and just enjoy the story. So what did I think...

It's safe to say the opening made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. I'm glad I started reading in the daytime rather than at night where I might have chosen to hide under the covers. Right through the story you can feel Annie's grief radiating from her and it definitely drew me into her life and how things were so different for her now. Then factor in her pregnancy and I could understand the state Annie was in. E. A. Clark wrote her in a way that helped to pull me into Annie's life and made her a likeable character. 

The story moves quickly and I loved the descriptions of Anglesey and the area surrounding the cottage. It really helped me to picture the scene and become more involved in the story. After the prologue the story picks up almost straight away with some paranormal occurrences that instantly had me on edge. The way everything plays out is pretty creepy but I was also curious as to why it was happening. There are plenty of secrets within this book some from deep in the past and some from not so long ago. It was a good contrast to have and definitely made me look for clues to see if there would be a connection. All centered around the holiday cottage and the people who live there. I was kept guessing as to which way the story would go and what the reason was for the paranormal activity which is always a positive I never want to guess the outcome half way through. 

There is a slight change of direction towards the end of the story that really intrigued me and has actually left me wanting more. It's definitely a story for reading with the lights on and I'm not sure that I'm ready to face looking out of a window in the dark any time soon!

In Lay Me To Rest there is a little bit of everything to keep you intrigued such as mystery, ghosts, murder and secrets!

Four stars from me!

With thanks to Elizabeth Clark, HQ Digital & Netgalley for my copy. This is my honest and unbiased opinion. 

Also thank you to Rachel at Rachel's Random Resources for the invite to join the tour.




E. A. Clark lives in the Midlands with her husband and son, plus a rather temperamental cat, a rabbit and a chinchilla. She has three (now grown-up) children and five grandchildren. She is particularly partial to Italian food, decent red wine (or any coloured wine come to that …) and cake – and has been known to over-indulge in each on occasions.

She has a penchant for visiting old graveyards and speculating on the demise of those entombed beneath. Whilst she has written short stories and poetry for many years, a lifelong fascination with all things paranormal has culminated in her first novel for adults, Lay Me to Rest. The setting is inspired by her love of Wales, owing to her father’s Celtic roots.

Follow E.A. Clark on…




If you get chance why not follow along with the tour, there are some fab bloggers taking part. 



No comments:

Post a comment