Evie's Year Of Taking Chances by Christie Barlow @ChristieJBarlow @bookouture #Review

About the book 


It’s Evie’s birthday and the start of a year she’ll never forget. An emotional story of love, friendship and grabbing life by the horns.


Evie’s job has always been her safe haven. As a librarian in the little town of Becton she loses herself in books - after all it’s far easier to read about other people’s problems than set about solving her own.

Then, one birthday, everything is turned upside down. A mysterious parcel containing a beautiful book with a poignant inscription arrives for Evie. It’s the beginning of a new chapter for Evie and she’s inspired to try and find her real mother. 

Evie’s search leads her to meet handsome author Noah Jones. Charming and intelligent, Noah seems the perfect catch but what Evie doesn’t realise is that he is hiding something – a key to Evie’s past. 

As Evie gets closer to Noah and discovering her mother, she must take a giant leap of faith. Can she embrace the new and make this her year of taking chances? And if she does, will she get her heart broken? 

A romantic, funny and poignant story of living life to the full and finding love in the most unlikely of places. Fans of Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley will adore this book!



Buy here

My Review 

The beginning of the book sets things up brilliantly as you are introduced to Evie and her friend Clara. I got a great feeling for both Evie's character and personality. With her love of books making me instantly like her. You really can feel Evie's love of books and reading jumping out from the pages. So as a bookworm myself it is so easy to feel a kinship with her. All of the characters that feature in this story are well rounded with distinct personalities. They all had a great story to share and it felt at times as if I had become a part of their world.

Evie's Year Of Taking Chances is such an enjoyable book especially as it felt so down to earth and natural to read. I really felt as if the characters could be people I knew, along with the fact that some if the personality traits were similar to my own.

I have to mention that as soon as I got to the bit about fish finger sandwiches I was off into the kitchen to make some for myself, yum!

There were some emotionally charged moments within this book but they were sensitively handled. My heart almost broke for Evie on occasion and I have to say I shed a tear or two. The best thing was how well the transition from any sad moments to more light hearted moments was. The story flowed effortlessly and I really didn't want to put the book down.

I love that Christie Barlow writes such wonderful characters that I always find myself attached to. This book is a perfect example with engaging characters and a heart felt story.

Emotional at times but beautifully written and filled with love, friendship and feel good moments. 

Five big, big stars from me!

Thank you to Bookouture and Netgalley for my copy. This is my honest and unbiased opinion. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Rae reads... The Late Blossoming of Frankie Green by Laura Kemp

Blog Tour - Guest Post & Giveaway - Brake Failure by Alison Brodie

Blog Tour - Review, Excerpt & Giveaway - A Little Luck, A Lot of Fate by Linn B. Halton