Lie To Me by Jess Ryder @jessryderauthor #Review #BlogTour @bookouture


Thank you so much for joining me on the blog tour for Lie To Me by Jess Ryder. I'm also sharing today's stop with Emma & her brilliant blog damppebbles.
I have a review for you but first of all let's take a look at the description for the book...


About the book

How can you tell the truth... if all you've ever known is a lie?

Three minutes. That’s all it takes for Meredith’s entire world to fall apart when she watches the videotape of her four-year-old self with Becca, the mother who abandoned her.

Meredith can’t believe what her eyes have seen. Yet what if her memory has locked away the painful reality of her childhood? Can there be any truth in the strange and dangerous story her mother forced her to tell on camera? 

The search for answers leads Meredith to Darkwater Pool, the scene of the murder of a young woman, Cara, over 30 years ago. What could possibly be the link between her mother and the victim?

To find the truth Meredith must search through a past that is not her own. The problem is, she’s not the only one looking…

A dark, compulsive psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Louise Jensen.

Buy Links


UK 🇬🇧 http://amzn.to/2mm2eKS 
US 🇺🇸 http://amzn.to/2m2teNU 

My Review

After reading the blurb I was keen to start reading and to see if a 30 year old murder could be solved but also to see how everything would turn out for Meredith. 

So what did I think...

First of all you get quite a good insight into Meredith's character she is in a bit of a slump and her life isn't necessarily going in the direction she had hoped it would. I loved the idea of the videotape and how something that should be so innocent as watching footage of yourself as a child turns into something else entirely. This discovery then sends both Meredith and the reader on a journey full of twists and turns. Meredith takes it upon herself to try and find her mother which of course opens up a whole can of worms. I liked that she was so determined to find out the truth at any cost.

The mystery of Cara's murder was great and had me trying to put the clues together to solve the crime. I enjoyed the fact that it was a cold case as I felt this added more to the mystery with so much time having passed. Trying to crack the case of a crime committed over 30 years ago is always going to be more difficult. So I was interested to see how they would get to the bottom of things. It was great to see the flashbacks to Cara's last few months and to see where everything went wrong. One of the things that I liked was that the characters weren't perfect as they all had their flaws. This definitely gave them a more natural and real life quality which made them all the more intriguing to get to know.

I have to admit compared with the last half of the book the first half moves a little slower but I liked the slow build up to discovering the truth. There are some tense moments along the way where I couldn't help but read faster and I couldn't wait to find out what would happen. Then near the end the story moves pretty quickly and I really didn't want to put my Kindle down. Everything came together brilliantly for the gripping conclusion along with a few surprises thrown in.

Lie To Me is a very intriguing story packed full of lies, secrets and betrayal!

Thank you to Bookouture & Netgalley for my copy. This is my honest and unbiased opinion.

About the author

Jess Ryder is the pseudonym of Jan Page, author, screenwriter, playwright and award-winning television producer.  After many years working in children's media, she has recently embarked on a life of crime.  Writing, that is. So she's very excited about the publication of her debut thriller Lie to Me.  Her other big love is making pots.

Why not follow along with the rest of the tour, see below for all the stops.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Rae reads... The Late Blossoming of Frankie Green by Laura Kemp

Blog Tour - Guest Post & Giveaway - Brake Failure by Alison Brodie

Blog Tour - Review, Excerpt & Giveaway - A Little Luck, A Lot of Fate by Linn B. Halton