Wednesday, 9 August 2017

The Little Cottage in the Country by Lottie Phillips #Review #BlogTour @writercharlie @sparklyword

Thank you for joining me today for my stop on the blog tour for The Little Cottage in the Country by Lottie Phillips. I'm delighted to be sharing my review but first of all let's take a look at the description for the book...

Title: The Little Cottage in the Country
Author: Lottie Phillips
Genre:  Women Fiction/ Romantic Comedy
Format: eBook only
Publisher: HQ Digital ( July 3, 2017)

Escape to the country!

Anna Compton thought that moving to the countryside, leaving London and her past firmly behind her was the perfect solution. Goodbye life of thirty-something, crazed single mum of two, hello country glamour queen, domestic goddess and yummy-mummy extraordinaire.

But her new life at Primrose Cottage isn’t quite what she expected! Very soon she’s chasing pork pies down hills, disguising her shop-bought cakes at the school bake sale – and trying to resist oh-so-handsome Horatio Spencerville, who just so happens to be the Lord of the Manor…

Could moving to the country be the biggest mistake she’s ever made?

Book Links

​Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Holly Martin and Tilly Tennant.

Praise for Lottie Phillips:‘A sweet and charming story.’ Kaye Temanson (NetGalley reviewer)

‘An easy summer read.’ Helena Manoli (NetGalley reviewer)

‘Loved it. I laughed my way through it!’ Donna Orrock (NetGalley reviewer)

‘A great story. I can’t wait for the next book by this author!’ Paige Kowolewski (NetGalley reviewer)

With quite a few fun characters this story is easy to get into although I have to admit it did take me a couple of chapters to warm up to Anna completely. However I really did enjoy seeing her personality come through especially dealing with her mum and best friend. Anna is feisty but also manages to get herself caught in all sorts of trouble. From clashing with Horatio to other escapades life is definitely not quiet in the country for Anna. She took everything in her stride even if she was extremely embarassed.

I loved the friendship that Anna and Diane share it's fun loving but they also look out for each other too. Then you have Anna's mum who is a larger than life character and is definitely not your average grandma. Horatio is a bit of a mystery and for a while I didn't really know what to make of him. So it was lovely to see the story develop and get to know him better.

The pacing of the story is steady it isn't a fast moving story but moves at a more steady pace which in a way ties into the whole countryside theme. The fun moments do make this story though and I loved the banter between Anna, Diane and Anna's mum Linda. I was smiling constantly at their antics they definitely made this story entertaining. It's always a positive for me if I can be left with a smile and this story did just that.

A lovely story with a sprinkling of romance and some quirky characters!

With thanks to Petra for the invite to join the tour, HQ Digital & Netgalley for my copy. This is my honest and unbiased opinion.

Charlie Phillips, writing under the pseudonym Lottie Phillips, worked as a teacher before turning her hand to fiction. She was brought up in Africa and the Middle East and then - as an adult - travelled extensively before moving to London and finally settling in the Cotswolds with her partner and toddler. When she’s not writing, you will find her scouring interior design magazines and shops, striving toward the distant dream of being a domestic goddess or having a glass of wine with country music turned up loud. As a child, she always had her nose in a book and, in particular, Nancy Drew.

The Little Cottage in the Country is Charlie's debut romantic comedy. She is very excited to be sharing Anna Compton's hilarious story with you! She also writes psychological thrillers under the pseudonym Louise Stone, including the best selling novel, S is for Stranger.

Readers can find Charlie Phillips on Twitter @writercharlie or at or

No comments:

Post a Comment