Friday, 28 September 2018

Dinner Party by Tracy Bloom @TracyBBloom #BlogTour @bookouture #Review




Thank you for stopping by I’m thrilled to be sharing my review for Dinner Party by Tracy Bloom as part of the blog tour today. First of all let’s take a look at the description for the book...





Never has an unexpected guest caused such chaos!

Three couples take it in turns to host a monthly dinner party.

Beth, Sarah and Marie have been friends forever. Now they are grown up, with busy lives, busy husbands, busy kids… but they still find time to meet up over dinner once a month. A cosy, comfortable gathering of happy couples – or so they thought.



Until one night, someone brings along a last-minute guest whose wife has just left him. 



Simon is standing on the doorstep in floods of tears. While the women do their best to console him, their husbands feel the need to mark their territory.



And as Simon becomes more involved with the group, his presence changes everything these three couples thought they knew about each other, leading to a final dinner party that no-one will ever forget.



From Amazon chart bestseller Tracy Bloom, Dinner Party is a funny and moving read that will make you see your marriage and friendships in a whole new light… and make you think twice about inviting your best mates round for dinner. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes, Nick Spalding and Gill Sims.

Buy Links



I didn’t quite know what to expect when I first picked up this book but I really became quite hooked on spending time with this group of characters!

It was just like being a fly on the wall experiencing everything with the characters along with seeing all the drama that bubbles up. The story is told from different perspectives which for me really helped to create a more rounded story. This way you get to see the characters inner thoughts and feelings as well as seeing their actions play out. The pacing of the story was really good and I think the different view points helped to keep the story fresh keeping the momentum going. There is such a fun feel to this book with some amusing parts at every dinner party. This was well balanced with some more deeper moments as the characters are holding something back with the reader seeing it simmering below the surface waiting to burst out.

Dinner Party is an easy going kind of story that just gave me that opportunity to sit back and enjoy what I was reading. The writing felt down to earth and natural, kind of showing us snapshots into every day life for this group of friends. They felt real especially as they had their flaws and I easily became attached to them by the end of this book. I loved how I was kept wondering what would happen next and I wasn't quite sure what the ending would be which I thought was great!

Who knew dinner parties could be so troublesome!



With thanks to Kim at Bookouture for my copy via Netgalley.




Tracy started writing when her cruel, heartless husband ripped her away from her dream job shopping for rollercoasters for the UK's leading theme parks, to live in America with a brand new baby and no mates. In a cunning plan to avoid domestic duties and people who didn't understand her Derbyshire accent, she wrote her romantic comedy, NO-ONE EVER HAS SEX ON A TUESDAY. This debut novel went on to be successfully published internationally and became a #1 Best Seller.


You can follow Tracy on Twitter at @TracyBBloom, like her Facebook page on www.facebook.com/tracybloomwrites or get in touch via her website at www.tracybloom.com

No comments:

Post a comment