The Beachside Flower Stall by Karen Clarke #Review @karenclarke123 @bookouture #BlogTour



Thank you for stopping by for my day on the blog tour for The Beachside Flower Stall by Karen Clarke. I have a review of this wonderful book to share with you today but first of all let's take a look at the book...

About the book

The Beachside Flower Stall

A heartening and uplifting read about lost love, true friendship, and blossoming romance. Perfect for fans of Cressida McLaughlin, Cathy Bramley, and Debbie Johnson.

Carrie Dashwood fled Dorset ten years ago when her best friend Megan stole her love, local heart-throb Tom. Now she’s back to help run her aunt Ruby’s flower stall in idyllic Shipley. 

Trying to persuade herself that her feelings for Tom are in the past, Carrie plans to avoid him and Megan completely. But it’s not to be, because Ruby’s Blooms are arranging the flowers for Megan and Tom’s wedding

Soon Carrie’s crawling under the stall to hide and accidentally inventing an imaginary boyfriend... But with the stall’s finances in jeopardy and Ruby needing her niece more than ever, Carrie has to keep her emotions in check.

With bouquets to arrange, family secrets to uncover, and Tom unavoidably a part of her life again, can Carrie keep her cool, save the stall, and find her very own happy ever after?


My Review 

I have to say that from first impressions I was completely drawn to the cover, it really is a perfect match for this story. After reading the blurb I couldn't wait to get started, so what did I think...

Carrie is such a caring person and I loved getting to know her as she takes on the task of running her Aunt Ruby's flower stall. I loved Carrie's early attempts at arranging the bouquets they definitely made me smile. There were plenty of comical moments mainly involving Carrie embarrassing herself but it did make this book so much fun! Although the conversations with Jane were very amusing and had me giggling too.

Have you ever read a book and hated a character from the start, well let me introduce you to Megan. I think it would be hard to go through life without meeting at least one person a little bit like Megan. Some of the things she said even wound me up but then I would think calm down it's only a story. I guess my point is that Karen Clarke has done a fantastic job of creating a character who you pretty much hate but also find so entertaining with her shallow ways! I do wish that Carrie would have stood up for herself a bit more but I know that it is easier said than done. If I am totally honest personality wise I am more like Carrie and possibly would have done the same when backed into a corner. 

All of the characters in this book are pretty brilliant and I loved that there was a good combination of light subject matter but also with a deeper theme at it's heart too. The plot moved smoothly and quickly meaning I read this book in two sittings. Although I wished I could have read it in one go as it was such an entertaining story that I didn't want to put down. I couldn't help but finish this book with a smile it definitely has that feel good factor to it! After reading this story I can't wait to read more books by Karen Clarke.


The Beachside Flower Stall is thoroughly entertaining with some delightful characters!

Thank you to Bookouture & Netgalley for my copy. This is my honest and unbiased opinion.


About the author

After giving up her job as a library assistant, Karen now writes full-time. She’s had over 300 stories published in women’s magazines in the UK and abroad, and has written three paranormal romantic comedies, published by Little, Brown/Corsair. When she’s not writing she reads avidly, walks dogs at her local rescue centre, and is eagerly awaiting the next season of The Walking Dead. She lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Rae reads... The Late Blossoming of Frankie Green by Laura Kemp

Blog Tour - Guest Post & Giveaway - Brake Failure by Alison Brodie

Blog Tour - Review, Excerpt & Giveaway - A Little Luck, A Lot of Fate by Linn B. Halton