Wednesday, 18 July 2018

Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane @Bloodhoundbook #BlogBlitz #Review


Thank you for stopping by I'm thrilled to be one of the stops on the blog blitz for Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane and sharing my review today. 

First of all let's take a look at the description for the book...





What causes a woman to murder her whole family?

Jo's idyllic life would make most people jealous. Until one day her daughter is abducted and the only way to find her is to unravel her dark past.


Ellie is a devoted wife... until she discovers the pain of betrayal. Now vengeance is all she can think about.



Party-girl Shayla knows how to hide her demons. But when she's confronted with a life-shattering choice, it will cost her everything.



June knows suffering intimately, though the smile she wears keeps it hidden.


Soon the lives of these four women intersect and one of them is about to snap…


From USA TODAY best-selling author Pamela Crane comes "a thought-provoking domestic noir novel perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and B.A. Paris ... A chilling look at the secrets mothers will hide for the sake of their families, and the gruesome reality of what can break an everyday woman."


Buy Link



Where do I start? Other than to say what a rollercoaster ride this story is, with drama filled moments that made this book pretty addictive. The opening alone sets the reader on a very dark path it makes a brilliant start as I was so curious as to what will happen. Pretty Ugly Lies follows four women Jo, Ellie, Shayla and June who all have the so called picture perfect lives but what really lurks below the surface. Along the way we see the different reasons that the characters may be teetering on the edge. 

This story shows us that even though from the outside everything looks rosy there could well be secrets, lies and infidelity waiting to be discovered. As the story progresses you get to know the characters along with their flaws all experiencing family life both the good and the bad. I was left feeling quite emotional at times as I saw the way that everyday things can get bottled up which can set off a chain of events, in this case coming to an explosive conclusion.

The way that Pamela Crane wrote this story was perfect at keeping me on my toes I must have changed my mind numerous times over who I thought would commit murder. Nothing is as it appears to be which I thought worked really well at keeping the suspense and tension levels at a high. It really is an explosive story that pulled me right in.  

If I could only use three words to describe Pretty Ugly Lies they would be Dark, secretive and shocking!

Four stars from me!



With thanks to Sarah at Bloodhound Books for my copy.



Pamela Crane is a professional juggler. Not the type of juggler who can toss flaming torches in the air, but a juggler of four kids, a writing addiction, a horse rescuer, and a book editor by trade. She lives on the edge (ask her Arabian horse about that—he’ll tell you all about their wild adventures while trying to train him) and she writes on the edge. Writing murder mysteries is her escape from the real world of dirty diapers and cleaning horse stalls, and she bases her characters on real people, so be warned! She is a USA Today best-selling author of several award-winning thrillers, which you can find on her website at www.pamelacrane.com. 



Author links:

No comments:

Post a Comment